History of the University

Akhmet Yassawi International Kazakh-Turkish University (Akhmet Yassawi University) established in 1991 on the personal initiative of the Head of State N.A. Nazarbayev and based on the Intergovernmental Agreement between Kazakhstan and Turkey to train modern highly qualified specialists from young Turkic-speaking countries, the spiritual center of the Turkic world – Turkestan and is the first university that received the status of an international institution of higher education.

During the official meeting of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev and the Prime Minister of Turkey Suleyman Demirel on may 1, 1992, the University was given the status of “international University»

On October 31, 1992, the Governments of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Republic of Turkey signed the Agreement on the reorganization of the university into Khoja Akhmet Yassawi International Kazakh-Turkish University.

In January 2012, the Head of State signed the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan on the ratification of the Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Government of the Republic of Turkey on the operating conditions of the Khoja Akhmet Yassawi International Kazakh-Turkish University.

Ahmed Yasawi University is one of the leading multidisciplinary universities in Kazakhstan.

The multi-level education system of the University includes: higher basic education (bachelor’s degree), internship, master’s degree, residency and doctoral studies. Admission to the University is based on state and Turkish educational grants and on a contractual basis.

Educational activities are carried out in 140 educational programs at all levels and nine areas of education: Pedagogical Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, journalism and information, Business, management and law, Natural Sciences, mathematics and statistics, Information and communication technologies, Engineering, manufacturing and construction industries, Health and social security (medicine), Services

Bachelor’s degree – 64,

Internship – 2,

Master’s degree – 46,

Residency – 16,

PhD – 14 Doctoral Program

List of educational programs

In the 2020-2021 academic year, the University has 71 doctors, 252 candidates of science, and 100 PhDs. 5 % of them are foreign teachers from Turkey and other countries.

The training is conducted in Kazakh, Turkish, Russian and English.

The University has 10 faculties, graduate school of public management and Economics, vocational College, 6 research institutes, specialized dissertation Council for doctoral dissertations, the University has trained more than 10 thousand students, interns, masters, residents and doctoral students as well as students of the preparatory faculty.

Since 1992, the University has started training medical specialists in the framework of higher and postgraduate education and has an international category of universities “full university”.

Now more than 10274 students, interns, undergraduates and doctoral students and students of the preparatory faculty are studying at the University, including about 1351 thousand students (14% of the contingent) from the Turkic-speaking countries of the near and far abroad.

Over the years of its existence, the University has trained more than 76 thousand young specialists in the field of higher professional and postgraduate education, including those from near and far abroad, who are now successfully working for the benefit of their homeland.